Saturday, June 3, 2017

CD/Vinyl Review: Famous Albums From Leon Russell And The Supremes Get Remastered & Reissued

One of the latest vinyl releases from Audio Fidelity is from one of America's greatest songwriters, Leon Russell. His self-titled debut solo album was originally released in 1970 and featured a "who's who" in rock, including Mick Jagger, George Harrison and Eric Clapton to name a few. This new vinyl reissue comes on translucent blue vinyl to reflect the album's cover. If that isn't beautiful enough, the remaster by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio will make your ears perk up and take notice. The piano keys in the opener "A Song For You" sound as if you are in the studio with Leon as he is singing just for you. The band swings into "Dixie Lullaby" with pure joy and the multiple restarts of "I Put A Spell On You" makes you appreciate the days when songs were recorded in one take. You feel the strain in his voice during "Hummingbird," before the choir takes the song over. This album also includes the career defining song "Delta Lady" and "Roll Away The Stone." To find out more about this latest vinyl release from Audio Fidelity, please visit

On April 28th, Universal Music released a 2CD expanded edition of The Supremes #1 album "The Supremes A' Go-Go." It was originally released in 1966 and was the first all-female album to reach #1 on the Billboard album chart. To celebrate, this new deluxe edition of the album features the original mono and stereo versions of the album along with an entire second disc of alternate takes. The album was a collection of songs made famous by other bands as The Supremes added their own flair to the classic songs "This Old Heart Of Mine" and "Baby I Need Your Loving." The album did produce two top ten singles with "Love Is Like An Itching In My Heart" (#9) and "You Can't Hurry Love" (#1). The bonus tracks that round out the first disc are songs that were recorded but not used for the final album like the Rolling Stones' "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" and the Stevie Wonder hit "Uptight (Everything's Alright)."

The second disc is was fans have wanted to hear for the last 50 years. You will get to hear alternate versions of songs that were recorded for the album and have now been married to its proper release. The Supremes sing their heart out during version 1 of the songs "(Love Is Like A) Heat Wave" and "It's The Same Old Song" as you notice subtle differences in these takes. The Supremes take on another Stevie Wonder number with "Just A Little Misunderstanding," before the alternate vocal takes of "Money (That's What I Want)" and "These Boots Are Made For Walking." Some more cover songs that appear on this release is the hit single from Jackie DeShannon, "What The World Needs Now" and Bob Dylan's "Blowin' In The World." This new 53-song, 2CD set closes with a duet with The Four Tops on the song "Shake Me, Wake Me (When It's Over)" and two different remastered mixes of their hit single "Love Is Like A Itching In My Heart." To find out more about this new deluxe version of The Supremes' album "The Supremes A' Go-Go," please visit

No comments: