Sunday, July 23, 2017

CD Review: New Re-Issues Of Albums By Arthur Alexander And Chris Fullerton

American soul singer Arthur Alexander never received the recognition he deserved. He penned such classic songs as "Anna (Go To Him)" and "You Better Move On," both covered by The Beatles and The Rolling Stones respectively. In 1972, Alexander released his only album on a major label and to celebrate the album's 45th anniversary, Omnivore Recordings is reissuing the album on CD with bonus tracks. Along with the bonus tracks, the booklet features new liner notes from Barry Hansen (Dr. Demento).

The original 12-song release begins with the uptempo soulfulness of "I'm Comin' Home" and the country feel of "It Hurts To Want It So Bad." The album features a version of Dennis Linde's "Burning Love," just prior to Elvis Presley turning it into a huge hit in the U.S. His soulful melody comes shining through on the storied lyrics of "Rainbow Road" and the funk infused "Call Me Honey." The six bonus tracks consist of the singles only releases of "Mr. John" and "Lover Please" along with their B-sides and the previously unreleased songs "I Don't Want Nobody" and "Simple Song Of Love." To find out more about this new expanded edition of Arthur Alexander's self-titled album, please visit

Texas-based singer/songwriter Chris Fullerton is preparing to re-release his debut album "Epilepsy Blues" on Eight 30 Records. The songs have a country/folk appeal, beginning with the stark delivery of "Bad Winds" that allows Fullerton's vocals to evoke emotion. He writes his love of his home state with "Come To Texas," before slowing down for the ballad "I Feel Nothing." He finds his way into your heart with the emotional stories of "Float On Up & See" and "Motel Blues." The album finishes with the weathered vocals of "Come On In" accompanied by only an acoustic guitar and the slow, steady build-up of "Seven Roman Candles." To find out more about Chris Fullerton and his latest release "Epilepsy Blues," please visit

No comments: