Saturday, August 26, 2017

CD Review: The Flamin' Groovies & Lloyd Price Return With Brand New Albums

American rock band, the Flamin' Groovies has been named one of the founders of punk music, since forming in 1965. Their albums have developed a cult following and their newest release features the classic line-up of Cyril Jordan and Chris Wilson for the first time since 1979. Their new album  is titled "Fantastic Plastic" and will be released on September 22nd through the band's own label, Sonic Kicks Records. It also features classic artwork by Cyril Jordan as a tribute to the late cartoonist Jack Davis.

Their new 12-song release kicks off with the raw rocker "What The Hell's Goin' On" as the band sound as if it was 40 years ago. They quicken the pace with the alternative/punk-like energy of "End Of The World," followed by the nostalgic sixties, British-invasion sound of "Don't Talk To Strangers." The wonderfully classic harmonizing of "She Loves Me" and the swinging rhythm of "Crazy Macy" will have you shaking your hips as this whole album flows with that classic energy. They showcase their punk side with the electrifying "Just Like A Hurricane," before finishing up with a flash back classic rock of "Cryin' Shame." The Flamin' Groovies are currently on the road promoting their reunion and their new album, "Fantastic Plastic." To find out more, please visit their Facebook page at

Rock 'n' roll hall of famer Lloyd Price is preparing to release his new album titled "This Is Rock And Roll" on September 22nd. It is his first album to feature original material in over a decade as this new 10-song released mixes in some covers with the originals. He is best known as one of the inventors of modern rock 'n' roll music with his 1952 single "Lawdy Miss Clawdy" and his 65-year career is a testament to his talents as a singer and songwriter.

His new album begins with the energized, horn-infused rock of "I'm Getting Over You," before bringing out the classic seventies funk sound of "Nobody Loves Anybody Anymore." He digs deep into the romantic, R&B groove of "The Smoke" with his timeless vocals, before flashing back to the 1969 hit "Bad Conditions" with the updated version titled "Our World." Lloyd Price pays homage to his fellow music partner Fats Domino, with a swinging versions of "Blueberry Hill" and "I'm Walkin'." Domino originally played on Price's "Lawdy Miss Clawdy." He wraps up his new album with a medley of Motown hits with "The Medley Of I Can't Help Myself" and the funk infused instrumental "Belly Movement." To find out more about Lloyd Price and his latest release "This Is Rock And Roll," please visit

No comments: