Tuesday, August 29, 2017

CD Review: Live Revisits Their Debut Album For 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

On the last day of 1991, the band Live released their debut studio album titled "Mental Jewelry." It would peak at #73 on the Billboard album chart and pave the way for their chart-topping follow-up "Throwing Copper." The album "Mental Jewelry" is celebrating it's 25th anniversary with a new 2CD deluxe edition and colored vinyl release. The new deluxe edition contains a remastered version of the original album along with 4 bonus tracks (two are from their early EP, one is a dance remix of "Pain Lies On The Riverside" and the other is previously unreleased). The second disc in the set contains a full concert performed at The Roxy in Los Angeles in 1992.
This new 25th anniversary re-issue, reminds you how good this album was as the dawn of alternative music was beginning to shape the airwaves. The album kicks off with their two, up-tempo lead singles "Pains Lies On The Riverside" and "Operation Spirit (The Tyranny Of Tradition)" as the band announce their arrival. Lead singer Ed Kowalczyk opens up on the power ballad "Brothers Unaware." His vocals will become a staple on alternative rock radio throughout the nineties. Live showcase their aggressive side with the speed up of "Waterboy," before digging deep into the raw emotions of "Take My Anthem" and "10,000 Years (Peace Is Now)." The first disc wraps up with the epic, six-minute unreleased acoustic rock build-up track "Born Branded" and ("Negation" and "Heaven Wore A Shirt") two B-sides from their single "Operation Spirit."
The second disc was recorded on July 16, 1992 and features Live's entire 12-song set that evening, beginning with the bass-fueled modern rocker "Waterboy." The band showcases a more aggressive sound in this live setting as songs like "Take My Anthem" and "You Are The World," which attack the issues of the world in 1992. The rawness of their live show comes through on "Tired Of Me" as the music is a pure rock assault. They turn "Good Pain" into a 10-minute highlight of the show, before finishing with the power pop rock of "The Beauty Of Gray" and the emotion fueled, 9-minute "10,000 Years (Peace Is Now)."
The original line-up of Live are hitting the road this fall to mark the 25th anniversary of "Mental Jewelry." For a complete list of shows and to find out more about this new 2CD deluxe edition and vinyl release of "Mental Jewelry," please visit freaks4live.com.

No comments: