Friday, August 18, 2017

CD Review: New Music From C.K. Flach, Soles Of Passion, Ryan Joseph Andersen & Patrick Ames

From upstate New York comes the debut album from singer/songwriter C.K. Flach titled "Empty Mansions." It was released earlier this year and features ten tracks that blurs the lines between Americana/folk and alternative pop music. He begins his new release with the strong emotions of "Lazarus." The music grows with each verse as you hang on each word of C.K.'s lyrics. He delivers his songwriting beautifully in the heartfelt ballad "Tranquilized" and then strikes power into the slow bluesy feel of "Munich." He showcases his folk side with the wonderful imagery of "Calamity," before finding the modern acoustic/rock groove of "The Officer." He finishes his new album with the protest folk hymn "Machine Gun" and the poetry reading of "Firmament." To find out more about CK. Flach and his latest release "Empty Mansions," please visit

The duo of Steven Wolfe and Myla Snow recently released their new 4-song EP titled "Land Of The Big Blue Sun." The duo goes by the name of Soles Of Passion and their new release certainly showcases their passion for using music to create a better world. They begin with the eighties-style pop melody of "Turned It All Around," which sounds a cross between Human League and Michael Jackson. Then they head out to the country with the bluesy title song, "Land Of The Big Blue Sun." Their new short release finishes with the light-hearted pop tones of "I'm Beggin' You Now" as this duo look to change the world one song at a time. To find out more about Soles Of Passion and their latest release "Land Of The Big Blue Sun," please visit

From Chicago comes the sophomore release from singer/songwriter Ryan Joseph Anderson titled "City Of Vines." It features ten tracks, beginning with the country/Americana groove of "Molly The Flood," which fits in perfectly right next to Wilco and Ryan Adams. Ryan Joseph Anderson stays rooted with "The Ragged Kind" and showcases his softer side with the gentle acoustics of the title song, "City Of Vines." He picks the tempo back up, slowly, with the country sway of "16 Lovers" and "Diamonds," before finishing his new album with the acoustic folk storytelling of "Cherokee Rose" and the steady rhythm of "July" as Ryan Joseph Anderson delivers a timeless album for the ages. To find out more about his new album, "City Of Vines," please visit

Earlier this year, singer/songwriter Patrick Ames released an EP of new songs titled "Four Faces." Now he returns six months later for his follow up EP titled "Like Family." The new 5-song EP begins with the comforting, up-beat pop tones of "I Know What It's Like," before the smooth flow of "Like Family" as Ames' vocals match perfectly to the music. He finishes his new short release with the steady pace of "Push The Door Open," which strives with its driving rhythm, and the beautiful harmonizing of "Robert Mondavi." To find out more about Patrick Ames and his latest release "Like Family," please visit

No comments: