Monday, September 4, 2017

CD Review: The Darkness Deliver A "Pinewood Smile" With Their New Album

English rock band, The Darkness have enjoyed much success in their home country, while they are still looking to re-capture the popularity of their debut album here in the U.S. It's been two years since their last full-length release and The Darkness are ready to announce their return with a brand new studio album titled "Pinewood Smile." It will be released on October 6th through Cooking Vinyl and The Darkness are already lining up shows and festivals for 2018.

Their new 10-song release begins with the autobiographical lyrics of "All The Pretty Girls" as they re-examine their life as rock stars. The band delivers the energy with the high octane delivery of "Buccaneers Of Hispaniola" and lead singer Justin Hawkins uses his high alto vocals for the hysterical chorus of "Solid Gold." They slow the tempo down for the beautiful poetic lyrics of "Why Don't The Beautiful Cry," before revving things back up with the epic sounding "Japanese Prisoner Of Love." Their new album wraps up with the high vocals and high energy of "I Wish I Was In Heaven" and the power ballad "Stampede Of Love."

The Darkness will begin their latest European tour on October 13th in Limerick, Ireland. For a complete list of shows and to find out more about their new album "Pinewood Smile," please visit

No comments: