Wednesday, September 20, 2017

CD Review: New Music From Indie-Rock Bands Hot Water Music, Makeout, Blindwish & Sons Of Texas

From Gainesville, FL comes the latest release titled "Light It Up" from the hard rock/punk band Hot Water Music. It was self-produced and released on September 15th through Rise Records and features the band's most complete work of their nearly 25-year career. The new 12-song release begins with the aggressive, hard-hitting song,"Complicated" as Hot Water Music deliver their music with a chip on their shoulder. They quicken their pace with the punk-like fury of the title-song, "Light It Up" and "Never Going Back" as the band continue to showcase their youthful side in their music. They continue their hard rock assault with the big guitar riffs of "Sympathizer" and "Bury Your Idols," before finishing up their new release with the passion of "High Class Catastrophe" and the sing-along chorus of "Take You Away." To find out more about Hot Water Music and their latest release "Light It Up," please visit

Another new release from Rise Records is the full-length debut album, "The Good Life" from American punk band Makeout. The band won a spot on the Vans Warped Tour and developed quite a following in their home state of Massachusetts. Their new 12-song album kicks off with the high-energy of "Childish" as their music was tailor-made for alternative rock radio. Their music is the perfect soundtrack for high schools with songs like "Crazy" and "Lisa." Makeout build up the intensity of the chorus on "You Can't Blame Me" and "Til We're Gone," before finishing their new album with the acoustic revenge punk ballad "Secrets" and the final "Blast Off" of punk energy. To find out more about Makeout and their latest release "The Good Life," please visit

On September 1st, we received the debut album from Dallas, TX alternative rock band Blindwish. Their new album titled "Good Excuses" features 1o-tracks of high-energy, beginning with the modern rock of "After Midnight," which combines elements of electronics with hard rock riffs and a youthful energy that will have you stand up and take notice of the rising new band. They continue to blast your ears with the intense rock approach of "Single Word" and the hard rock riffs of "Cold Shoulders." Blindwish take their foot off the gas for the acoustic ballad "Down," before returning to the hard rock of "They're Not Real" and guitar driven "Echo." To find out more about Blindwish and their latest release "Good Excuses," please visit their Facebook page at

Arriving on September 22nd is the sophomore release titled "Forged By Fortitude" by the Texas heavy metal band Sons Of Texas. Their new 11-song release comes bursting out of the gate with the hardcore metal attack of "Buy In To Sell Out" as the thunderous drum rolls will certainly get your blood pumping. They lock into a modern thrash groove for "Feed The Need," before diving "Down In The Trenches" with the song's big guitar riffs. They find the perfect recipe for hard rock radio success with "Cast In Stone" and showcase their planned attack on your ears with the frenzy of "Expedition To Perdition" and "Jaded Eyes." Sons Of Texas wrap up their new release with a return to their hardcore metal sound in the title song, "Forged By Fortitude" and the hard-edged country rock of "Slam With The Lights On." To find out more about the Sons Of Texas and their latest release "Forged By Fortitude," please visit

No comments: