Monday, October 30, 2017

CD Review: New Metal Releases From We Came As Romans, Sinsaenum, Downswing & Tarja

From Michigan we get the latest release from the hardcore metal band We Came As Romans. Their new album titled "Cold Like War" has a lot to live up to as three of their former albums charted well and has made We Came As Romans a worldwide touring force. Their new 10-song release begins with the chugging rhythm of "Vultures With Clipped Wings" as screaming vocals and pounding drums take over your headphones. They will surely get your adrenaline pumping with the intense delivery of the title song "Cold Like War," before hitting their mainstream metal stride with the addictive "Two Hands." The album continues with the high-powered screams of "Wasted Age," then turns electronic with the beats of "Encoder." We Came As Romans wrap up their new album with the slower, radio-friendly "Promise Me" and the emotional strain of "Learning To Survive." To find out more about We Came As Romans and their latest release "Cold Like War," please visit

Extreme death-metal band Sinsaenum return to follow-up last year's debut album with a new 6-song EP titled "Ashes." The new release contains 3 brand new songs, 2 Japanese bonus tracks from the band's debut album and a remix of their song "Dead Souls" done by French producer/musician Frederic Duquesne. The new release kicks off with the growling vocals of "Ashes" as you get reacquainted with Sinsaenum. The music of the six-plus minute epic "2099" displays the talents of band as they continue to add layers of metal upon your ears. The intensity of "Degeneration" and the speed of "King Of The Desperate Lands" should be enough to hold you over until their next full-length album coming in 2018. To find out more about Sinsaenum and their latest release "Ashes," please visit

Arriving November 10th is the latest release titled "Dark Side Of The Mind" from the New York hardcore metal band Downswing. Their new 5-song EP begins with the pounding rhythm of "Bitter" and the chugging guitar riffs of "Disease." The album's lead single, "Enough" is an intense hardcore driven attack as the screaming vocals energize the song's swift pace. They wrap up their new short release with the wild frenzy of "Immolate." To find out more about Downswing and their latest release "Dark Side Of The Mind," please visit their Facebook page at

Finnish singer/songwriter Tarja Turunen is preparing to release a new Christmas album this holiday season titled "From Spirits And Ghosts (Score For A Dark Christmas)." It will be released on November 17th through earMUSIC and includes 11 holiday classics and one original tune. Tarja adds her beautiful vocals to the melodic opener "O Come, O Come Emmanuel," singing part of the song in her native language. She continues with the only original track on the album, the gentle grace of "Together" as her voice simply strikes emotion in your heart. The eeriness of "Deck The Halls" and the festive appeal of "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas" each have Tarja's special spin on these holiday classics. The album finishes with the slow, atmospheric flow of "Feliz Navidad" and the dark Gothic tone of "We Wish You A Merry Christmas." To find out more about Tarja and her new Christmas album "From Spirits And Ghosts (Score For A Dark Christmas)," please visit

No comments: