Saturday, November 4, 2017

CD Review: "Excalibur" Composer Alan Simon Releases New "Songwriter" Compilation

On November 3rd, Cherry Red Records is releasing a new 2CD, 40-song compilation from French musician/composer Alan Simon. The set includes a load of special guests, including members of the band Supertramp, Midnight Oil, as well as Alan Parsons, Jon Anderson, John Wetton and Mick Fleetwood, just to name some of the contributors. The new release titled "Songwriter" showcases the beautiful talents of Alan Simon as his music will take you on a wondrous journey.

The first disc begins with the Irish heritage of "Celtic Ring" and the moving score of "Les Cavaliers Du Vent." European singer Brankica Vasic lends her vocal talents to the atmospheric sounds of "World," while Carlos Nunez adds his special touch on flute to the classical piece "Ad Libitum." British folk/rock band Fairport Convention turn up the volume on the more up-tempo rhythms of "Beltaine" and "Castle Rock." The iconic vocals of John Wetton fit perfectly on the mellow acoustic rock of "The Vision," before the disc closes with the emotional ballad "I'm Not The Only One" featuring Jesse Sienbenberg and John Helliwell.

Disc two starts out with the most pop-oriented track in the set as Midnight Oil works with Simon on "No Man's Land." Simon continues his rock approach with Yes' Jon Anderson leading the way on "Circle Of Life" and Heather Small on the soulfulness of "Peace On Earth." The late-Billy Preston is the driving force on the inspirational gospel tone of "Where Is The Way" and Cesaris Evora adds a Latin-flair to the acoustics of "Jangadero." The album finishes with the folk storytelling of "Motherland" with Jimmy O'Neill and the bright, beautiful vocals of Siobhan Owen on the ballad "A Prayer For My Lover." To find out more about this new compilation from Alan Simon, please visit

No comments: