Sunday, November 5, 2017

CD Review: New Deluxe Editions Of Debut Albums From The Yeah Yeah Yeahs & Carmaig de Forest

American indie-rock band Yeah Yeah Yeahs have dominated college radio for the better part of the last decade. After a brief hiatus, which began in 2014, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs are ready to return to their fans. Leading the way is a new deluxe remaster of their debut album "Fever To Tell." The album will be celebrating it's 15th anniversary in 2018 and was a major success for the band, selling over a million copies worldwide. This new deluxe release features the original album remastered on 180-gram vinyl, plus unreleased demos, B-sides and other rarities. Also included in the set is a 164-page hardcover book with Nick Zinner's personal photos and pages from lead singer Karen O's notebook. One of the great ideas that is part of this set is a champagne cork looking USB stick that includes all of the 29 audio tracks and over 90 minutes of video.

The original album sounds better now than when it was released in 2003. The rawness of their sound and the stellar vocals of Karen O is just as relevant as when they were leading the underground rock revolution in the early 2000's. Fans will want to dive into the bonus tracks that consist of the band's four-track demo, which includes the experimental "Shot Down" and "Ooh Ooh Ooh." The flip side of the second LP features the previously unreleased tracks "Shake It" and "Boogers" along with the B-sides to their early singles. To find out more about this new deluxe release from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, please visit

California-based singer/songwriter Carmaig de Forest was once the warm-up artist for bands like the Ramones and the Violet Femmes and he also had his debut album produced by Big Star's Alex Chilton. That album was originally released in 1987 and titled "I Shall Be Released." Now, Omnivore Recordings is re-issuing the album for it's 30th anniversary and adding 10 bonus tracks to the original 15-song set. The sound that Forest captured on his debut album fits perfectly alongside early albums by the Violet Femmes and the Dead Milkmen. His songs have a rockabilly/punk energy as in the songs "Los Angeles" and "I'd Be Delighted." His cover of "Secret Agent Man" is pure fun as he sticks close to the original, before his original album wraps up with the slow-sway of "I'll Be Your Angel."

The ten bonus tracks consist of of his live EP and five previously unreleased songs from the original album sessions. Forest's cover of "Banks Of The Ohio" sounds as if Lou Reed performed this country/folk standard and his live performances have a more alternative-rocking approach as with "One More Time" and "Dark Place." The new re-issue closes with the punk-like speed of "Long Distance" and the rockabilly swing of "Dayenu." To find out more about this new re-issue of Carmaig de Forest titled "I Shall Be Re-Released," please visit

No comments: