Friday, November 2, 2018

Celebrate The 20th Anniversary Of These Classic Albums From Fastball & Yum-Yum (DJ Chris Holmes)

Omnivore Recordings is in a celebratory mood with new releases marking the 20th anniversary of a couple special albums. First up is the new 20th anniversary release of the platinum-selling album from the Austin, TX rock band, Fastball. Their 1998 album "All The Pain Money Can Buy" brought the band super-stardom with the hit singles "The Way," "Fire Escape" and "Out Of My Head." To celebrate the band's accomplishments, the album is being reissued with an additional nine bonus tracks. It will also be released on vinyl for the first time as a double LP.

The album will certainly bring you back to nineties, as it kicks off with two of those hit singles ("The Way" and "Fire Escape"), as you settle in for a nostalgic trip. The alternative rock assault of "Sooner Or Later" and "Damaged Goods" will remind you of the band's youthful energy on this, their sophomore release. The bonus tracks consist of B-sides, compilation tracks and rare previously unreleased demos. The acoustic strumming of "Fire Escape" and "Sweetwater, Texas" showcase these songs in their infancy, while still delivering the band's iconic sound. This new set of songs closes with Fastball's cover of The Replacements' "Androgynous" and a raw, acoustic version of "The Way." To find out more about the 20th anniversary release of Fastball's "All The Pain Money Can Buy," please visit

Another album that is getting the 20th anniversary deluxe treatment is Yum-Yum's "Dan Loves Patti." While you may not know Yum-Yum by that name, it was the former name that was given to Paul McCartney's current touring opener, DJ Chris Holmes. He has spent the last nine years on the road with Paul, but prior to that he was known as the recording artist, Yum-Yum. His debut album "Dan Loves Patti" has become a cult classic and after being long out of print, is now being reissued with ten bonus tracks.

While the album never created any hit singles, it showcased an artist paying homage to classic AM radio, with raw rock music mixed with addictive pop lyrics. The great, energetic feel of "Doot-Doot" and "Sister" displayed the potential for pop success, but instead his music found a home with fans of the underground rock music. The album's original 12-song set almost doubles in size with some stellar bonus tracks, including covers of Prince's "When You Were Mine" and The Muppets' "Rainbow Connection." Six of the bonus tracks features previously unreleased demo versions of songs that did not appear on the original album. The hidden gems of "Summertime" and "Automatic Blues," which show that Yum-Yum was on the verge of becoming a hit producing machine. It seems like his music is more relevant today than it was back in 1998. To find out more about the 20th anniversary release of Yum-Yum's "Dan Loves Patti" album, please visit

No comments: