Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Dennis Quaid Jumps "Out Of The Box", The Delines Become "Imperial" and Lone Justice Revisits "The Western Tapes"

Movie-star Dennis Quaid is switching gears, from acting to music. Quaid and his band, The Sharks, recently released their debut album, "Out Of The Box" on November 30th through Omnivore Recordings. This album has been 30 years in the making, as Quaid had the itch to create music back in the '80's when he produced music for some of his early films. Dennis Quaid & The Sharks have history that dates back 18 years, performing around the L.A. club scene, but this is their first studio release.

It kicks off with the honky-tonk rock of "I'm In Love," as Quaid pays tribute to his early musical influences with this classic sounding country gem. They keep the energy flowing with the guitar-driven explosion of "Peaches No. 9" and "Out Of The Box." Dennis Quaid & The Sharks breath new life into their covers of well-known classics like The Doors' "L.A. Woman," "Riders On The Storm" and Larry Williams' "Slow Down," along with Van Morrison's "Gloria." They wrap up their new album with the autobiographical tale of "After The Fall." To find out more about Dennis Quaid & The Sharks and their new album "Out Of The Box," please visit the band's Facebook page at facebook.com/dennisquaidandthesharks.

Arriving January 11th, is the latest release from the Americana/country band, The Delines. Their new album titled "The Imperial," ends a three-year hiatus due to a car accident that was suffered by the band's lead singer, Amy Boone. Their new ten song release begins with the emotional ballads "Cheer Up Charley" and the title track, "The Imperial," as the melodies allow you to focus on Amy's vocals. The album continues with the slow waltz of "Let's Be Us Again" and the classic/nostalgic country sway of "Eddie & Polly." The songs on this new release play soft and quiet as the music just wraps you up like a comfortable blanket. The Delines closes out their new album with the blues of "He Don't Burn For Me" and the gentle touch of "Waiting On The Blue." To find out more about The Delines and their latest release "The Imperial," please visit thedelines.com.

Classic '80's country band, Lone Justice recently released their early demo collection "The Western Tapes, 1983" on November 23rd on vinyl and CD, just in time for Record Store Day. The new six-song release shows, that even before the release of the first album, that Lone Justice was special. Their classic country sound on "Don't Toss Us Away" pays homage to early days of honky-tonk country music. Their youthful energy comes quickly swinging by with "I See It" and "The Train," as these early songs showed potential, which lead to an all too short four year career. To find out more about Lone Justice's "The Western Tapes, 1983" release, please visit omnivorerecordings.com.

No comments: