Wednesday, March 6, 2019

Expand Your Musical Palette With The Bucket List, DarWin, Fernando Perdomo and Ape Shifter

When you create a list of things that you would like to do or accomplish in your lifetime, it becomes your "bucket list." Well, one such "bucket list" features a new album from legendary artists Phil Keaggy, Tony Levin and Jerry Marotta. This trio, who have named themselves, The Bucket List, have recorded an album of 12 instrumentals that showcase the wonderful talents of each member of the band. We begin with "Sometimes 11," which starts out like a beautiful, wide-open jazz number, before taking off into more progressive rock territory. Levin's bass leads the way on the funky breaks of "Fearless," while Keaggy's guitar work on "Midlife Crisis" is exceptional. The album continues with the quieter, experimental rhythm of "Stella Luna," as drummer Jerry Marotta pours his heart into this performance. The band expands their sound with the interesting tones of "Phil's On," before closing their new album with the beautiful melody of "Caravan" and the sunny jazz sounds of "Blue Hawaii." To find out more from The Bucket List, please visit

The new progressive rock band, DarWin recently released their full-length debut album "Origin Of Species." It features the work of legendary drummer Simon Phillips (Toto, Judas Priest, The Who) and veteran bass player Matt Bissonette (David Lee Roth), with guest appearances from Greg Howe, Jeff Babko, Dennis Hamm and Ernst Tibbs. The new release is a concept album about the future of the world as chaos and confusion ensues. It is broken up into two separate acts, as things kick off with the aggressive feel of "For Humanity" and "The Last Chance." The tempo slows down for the more melodic tones of "Taking Chances" and "Escape The Maze." The first part of the album closes with the addition of The Chamber Orchestra of London filling up the grand appeal of "Forever."

The second part comes blasting right out of the gate with the hard rock attack of "War Against My Mind," before delivering the beautiful harmonies of "One Horizon" and "Cosmic Rays." The band return to the progressive hard rock assault of "Walk Away From Earth" and "Just One More Day," as you can fully appreciate the stellar musicianship DarWin have to offer. They close out their new album with the spoken word introduction of the "Prologue," which leads into the return of "For Humanity." To find out more about DarWin and their latest release "Origin Of Species," please visit

Progressive rock guitarist Fernando Perdomo quickly followed up his 2018 album "Out To Sea," with the sequel "Out To Sea 2." This new album features seventeen tracks, beginning with the intense quick energy shot of "Two." Fernando keeps the energy going with the steady flow of "Super Woofer" and the exciting guitar work of "Boing!" He slows down for you to examine the wonderful soundscape guitar work of "Beautiful" and "Stairway To The Sea." Fernando Perdomo also shows that he can rock with the best of them on the uptempo blast of "Saturday Night" and "Flying To Utopia." He closes out his new release with a pair of live tracks, as he takes you on the adventure of "Angel" and the more intense rocker "The Architect (Tribute To Peter Banks)." To find out more about Fernando Perdomo and his latest release "Out To Sea 2," please visit

Two years after the release of their debut album, the progressive hard-rock trio, Ape Shifter return with their sophomore album simply titled "Ape Shifter II." It features thirteen tracks that the band has been working on since completing their two European club tours. The album kicks off with the high-energy opener "Gravity," as musician Jeff Aug explodes on the guitar. The music gets a little grungier on the heavy attack of "Mask Of The Ancient Warrior," before drummer Kurty Munch pounds his way through "Shoegazer." Bassist Florian Walter gets funky with the riffs of "American Eagle," before the band return to a more classic British heavy metal sounds on "7 Years Fat, 7 Years Lean" and "Die Rausschmeiber." Ape Shifter wrap up their new album with the rhythm-fueled "No Chords Allowed, Jonathan" and the quieter, worldly feel of "Matilda," which is also the only song that contains lyrics and vocals. Ape Shifter will be heading out on the road at the end of the month for another club tour of Europe. To find out more about Ape Shifter and their latest release Ape Shifter II," please visit

No comments: