Thursday, March 21, 2019

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers Give Us "The Best Of Everything"

Since the untimely passing of Tom Petty in October of 2017, The Heartbreakers, along with Tom's family, have released a giant set of unreleased gems titled "An American Treasure." It features over 60 songs from the Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers vault. It also seemed like the right time to sum up the career of a man who has touched so many rock 'n' roll hearts. Back on March 1st, Geffen Records/UMe teamed up to create the ultimate Tom Petty 'greatest hits' package titled "The Best Of Everything." This new set, released as a double-disc CD set or a four vinyl record set features 38 tracks that covers Petty's entire career with The Heartbreakers, as a solo artist and for the first time as a member of Mudcrutch. 

Of course, will all 'best of' collections, you are going to have some of your favorite songs not make the cut, but for starters, this set kicks off with the Petty solo greats, "Free Fallin'," "You Wreck Me" and "I Won't Back Down." Then it shifts to the Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers' classics "Don't Do Me Like That," "Breakdown" and "The Waiting." Petty's last greatest hits set "Anthology: Through The Years" only reached up to 1995, while "The Best Of Everything" includes songs from his last four albums with The Heartbreaks, as well as his final solo release "Highway Companion."

The set does not run in chronological order, which actually helps you absorb each song individually, as Tom Petty worked on making each album it's own work of art. Some of the welcome additions to this career-spanning release is of course the song "Wildflowers," which certainly belongs on every Tom Petty "best of" compilation. Others that may not be as well known, are the Mudcrutch songs "Scare Easy," "Trailer," "Hungry No More" and "I Forgive It All," but they fit in perfectly along side other recent favorites like "American Plan B" and "Square One." This set also includes two unreleased songs, an alternative version of the title song "The Best Of Everything," which originally appeared on the "Southern Accents" album. This new version restores the lost second verse. The other previously unreleased gem, which is the latest lead single from the band, is the song "For Real," which was originally recorded during the sessions for "The Last DJ" album. It begins with just Tom strumming on an acoustic guitar, before the rest of the band join in on this ballad.

This new release also includes a new essay, specially written for this collection, from author, journalist, director Cameron Crowe. To find out more about Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers' latest release "The Best Of Everything," please visit

No comments: