Monday, July 22, 2019

New Cover Albums By British Punk Legends U.K. Subs & The Members, Plus The Latest "Punk Goes Acoustic"

What began in 2000 as a way to get punk music to reach the general masses, the "Punk Goes" series has reached its 19th volume titled "Punk Goes Acoustic, Volume 3." Former releases included award-winning artists performing some of their favorite pop songs and Christmas carols. It has been twelve years since the last volume of "Punk Goes Acoustic" was released and this new installment is a welcome addition to the family.

The new release begins with Dance Gavin Dance pouring their all into an intimate performance of their song "Story Of My Bros." Highlights of this set include a gentle run through Taking Back Sunday's "A Decade Under The Influence" and Mayday Parade's emotional rendition of "Take This To Heart." Don Broco add a pop/dance beat to "Come Out To LA," which feel slightly out of place on this release, while "Okay" by As It Is becomes unrecognizable in this mellow setting, which is the perfect reason to keep the "Punk Goes" series going. To find out more about "Punk Goes Acoustic, Volume 3," please visit

British punk legends, U.K. Subs stepped out of their comfort zone last year to record covers of some of their favorite songs from the likes of David Bowie, MC5 and Motorhead. This year, they return with part two of their covers project titled "Subversions II." It was released back in June and features a dozen new cover tunes, beginning with the song "Diversion," which was an underground hit for the British pop band, The Equals. Many of the songs on this new release are well-known rock classics that the U.K. Subs put their own spin on. They speed up Donovan's folk/pop ballad "Season Of The Witch" and Tom Petty's "You Wreck Me," but find more comfort in their own renditions of The Stooges' "Search And Destroy" and The Who's "My Generation." The U.K. Subs finish off their new album with an all-out punk assault on Queen's "We Will Rock You" and The Rolling Stones' early classic, "The Last Time." The U.K. Subs will be hitting the road this fall with a string of dates in the U.K. For a complete list of shows and to find out more about their latest release "Subversions II," please visit

Fellow U.K. punk band, The Members have also released a new album of cover songs titled "Version." The Members had a couple of hit singles in late-seventies and early eighties in the U.K. and Australia, before calling it quits in 1983. After 24 years apart, The Members reunited for a string of shows in 2008 and have been recording and performing on a regular basis since then. Their new album features fourteen tracks, beginning with a ska-like rendition of Prince's "When You Were Mine." The Members seem to be having fun with their choices as songs by Abba and Grandmaster Flash seem out of their comfort zone, but sound great. They deliver a reggae sound to the Buzzcocks' "What Do I Get" and John Holt's "Police In Helicopter." They also flex their punk muscle with covers of The Ramones' "Sheena Is A Punk Rocker" and Johnny Thunders' "Chinese Rocks." The Members wrap up their new album with a spot on version of The Velvet Underground's "Waiting For My Man." The Members are currently on the road with a list of shows in the U.K. For a complete list of live dates and to find out more about their latest release "Version," please visit

No comments: