Wednesday, July 17, 2019

New Music From Indie-Rock Bands Custard Flux, Towner, The Prime and Radio Free Honduras

From Detroit, MI comes the sophomore effort titled "Echo" from the psychedelic rock band Custard Flux. Custard Flux is led by multi-instrumentalist Curvey, who also leads the progressive, psych-rock band, The Luck Of Eden Hall for over 30 years. The new eight-track album begins with the up-lifting, rock/pop melody of "Supernatural," which would have fit in perfectly during the sixties "summer of love." Custard Flux continue with the more experimental instrumentation of the title song "Echo" and the nostalgic British pop/rock vibe of "America." Custard Flux wrap up their new album with the acoustic build-up of "Gold" and the six-minute, final trip of "Suns And Daughters," which showcases the wonderful songwriting talents of Curvey on this latest release. To find out more about Custard Flux and their latest release "Echo," please visit

Next, from Ann Arbor, MI comes the debut release from the four-piece alternative rock band, Towner. The new four-song EP was recorded live (mostly) and showcases the addictive quality of their raw, garage-rock sound. They begin with the uptempo, pop-rock anthem of "Freaks In Common," as their minimalist approach draws you into their sound. The short, thirteen-minute EP keeps the energy flowing with "Calm Down," before closing with the nostalgic, new wave appeal of "Moving Target." To find out more about Towner and their new self-titled EP, please visit

Moving on to Chicago comes the latest release "Eternal Sky" from the alternative rock band, The Prime. The new five song release signals the 2.0 version of the band, which re-grouped back in 2018. The band's original beginning dates back almost a decade ago, but this latest release features a strong showing of commitment. They kick things off with "Paradox," a rock number that slowly draws you into the band's sound, as you get hooked by its chorus. They pick the energy up with "Live On" and display a heavier rock sound on "Simple Town," before closing their new short release with the power pop melody of the title song "Eternal Sky." To find out more about The Prime and their latest release "Eternal Sky," please visit

Finally we arrive at the Chicago-based Latin band Radio Free Honduras, who recently released their new album titled "Mis Suenos." It features only six tracks performed by a diverse collection of musicians from the Chicago area, lead by Dan Abu-Absi (guitarist for JT and The Clouds). The album also includes contributions from Charlie Baran, who was an original member of the Honduran musical group Banda Blanca. The songs on this new release are all sung in Spanish, except for their cover of Badfinger's "No Matter What." The music on this album contains a Santana-inspired Latin rock flair, as displayed in the opening track "Suavecito." Radio Free Honduras perform a Spanish cover of Willie Nelson's "On The Road Again," giving the song that mariachi band vibe. They finish up their new album with the Latin flair of "La Negra Tomasa (Bilongo)" and the emotional acoustic delivery of "Dulce Y Delicada." To find out more about Radio Free Honduras and their latest release "Mis Suenos," please visit

No comments: