Sunday, October 6, 2019

The Muffs Take "No Holiday" On Final Studio Album & Fastball Brings Us "The Help Machine"

After a five year break, The Muffs return with their new studio album titled "No Holiday." Omnivore Recordings has been reissuing the band's earlier work and is preparing the release of this new album on October 18th. The release is bittersweet due to the very recent passing of lead singer/guitarist, Kim Shattuck. 

On this new release, the trio is still full of energy (and songs), as they kick things off with the short, energetic jolt of "That's For Me" and the punk-rock fury of "Down, Down Down." They take a step back and slow the tempo down for the raw, alternative melody of the title song "No Holiday" and "Earth Below Me." The Muffs come roaring back with the steady garage rock of "Late And Sorry," before going quiet with the acoustic ballad "The Best," as you become even more attracted to the iconic vocals of Kim Shattuck. The wonderful sound of "To That Happy Place," along with the upbeat, fun of "Happier Just Being With You" and "Lucky Charm" displays the many styles that Kim was writing in between 1991-2017. The Muffs wrap up their new album with the intense alternative rock of "On My Own" and the vulnerable acoustics strumming of "Sky." To find out more about this latest release from The Muffs, please visit

Also arriving October 18th is the new studio effort from the Austin, TX trio, Fastball. The band struck platinum status back in 1998 with their album "All The Pain Money Can Buy," featuring the hit single "The Way." Now, they return with their eighth studio album titled "The Help Machine," which includes eleven tracks and some very special guests like Charlie Sexton and members of The Band Of Heathens and Cracker. The new set kicks off with the steady, melodic pace of "Friend Or Foe" and continues with Fastball's classic alt-pop sound on "White Collar." The wonderful harmonies of "Redeem" play perfectly along side the song's slinky rhythm, before picking the energy up with the swift pace of "All Gone Fuzzy." Fastball finish off their new album with country rocker "The Girl You Pretend To Be" and the gentle, slow-moving ballad "Never Say Never." The band has a handful of shows lined up during the month of October in Texas, for a complete list of dates and to find out more about their new album "The Help Machine," please visit

No comments: