Thursday, December 12, 2019

Spread Some Holiday Cheer With These New Christmas Themed Releases

Arriving just in time for Christmas is the newly released "Prog Rock Christmas" compilation, featuring a mix of classic versions and new renditions of some holiday themed songs. We begin with Yes vocalist Jon Davison singing lead on the Chris Squire original "Run With The Fox," which is the perfect way to start off this thirteen-song set. Guitarist Steve Morse puts his skills on display for a rocking version of "Carol Of The Bells," while Billy Sherwood and Patrick Moraz team up for the Paul McCartney Christmas classic "Wonderful Christmastime." One of the highlights of this new compilation is the duet of "Fairytale Of New York" by Leslie Hunt & Robin McAuley, who sing perfect together. Another highlight is actor Malcolm McDowell getting into character with his performance of "You're A Mean One, Mr. Grinch." This new "Prog Rock Christmas" album wraps up with Nik Turner and Simon House delivering a spaced-out version of "Silent Night," along with the late-John Wetton pouring all his emotions into "Happy Christmas (War Is Over)." To find out more about this new Christmas compilation, please visit

Next is jazz guitarist Dave Stryker's recently released holiday album titled "Eight Track Christmas." Stryker and his Eight Track Band cover ten holiday favorites on this new release through Strikezone Records. The album begins with the swinging groove of "This Christmas," followed-by the equally enticing jazzed-up version of the Christmas ballad "What Child Is This?." Dave Stryker and the Eight Track Band slow down for the wonderful warming mellow tones of John Lennon's "Happy Xmas (War Is Over)," before picking the energy back up with the strut and swagger of "Soulful Frosty," a mash-up of the songs "Soulful Strut" and Frosty The Snowman." The album finishes with the soulful, blues-infused rendition of "Blue Christmas" and a swinging closer "O Tannenbaum," featuring a guest appearance by Steve Nelson on the vibraphone. To find out more about Dave Stryker and his new holiday album "Eight Track Christmas," please visit

Punk Rock Christmas returns with their second volume of holiday favorites performed by some of today's biggest independent punk bands. The new 26-track release follows on the heels of the successful 2015 release and is sure to get you in a festive mood. The set kicks off with the energetic blast of Tsunami Bomb's version of "Santa Claus Is Coming To Town," while The Rumjacks bring you Christmastime in Ireland with the Celtic punk sing-along of "Christmas In Killarney." Pulley adds a pulse to "O Holy Night" with their classic, raw punk sound and The Queers give us a good ol' "Ramones Christmas." There are also the non-traditional tracks like The Vibrators' "Santa Had To Go Into Rehab" and "Who Put The Gum In Santa's Whiskers" by Ship Theives. This new compilation is a nice escape from the same Christmas classics you hear every year, as Walter Etc. turns "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas" into this groovy, surf-style version. The new "Punk Rock Christmas 2" closes out with the sonic blast of energy added by Chief State to "All I Want For Christmas" and a live version of Johnny Thunders performing a loose, bluesy rendition of "Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer." This release is available in stocking stuffer-sized CD and in under the tree red-colored vinyl. To find out more about the new "Punk Rock Christmas 2" compilation, please visit

Just in time for Christmas, we get the new holiday-themed single "I Think About You" from country music artist Patsy Thompson. This is the first release from her new album "Fabulous Day," that is arriving in February 2020. This Canadian-born singer/songwriter has planted her roots in Texas with the new, nostalgic-sounding single, that centers around the subject of not being with the one you love on Christmas. On the flip side of her new single, we get the slow waltz of "Dreamin'," which showcases Patsy's early influences on this heartfelt ballad. To find out more about Patsy Thompson and her new music, please visit

No comments: