Wednesday, March 25, 2020

New Heavy Metal Music From Metal Blade Records Artists Master Boot Record, Igorrr and Riot

Metal Blade Records is looking to close out March with a trio of new releases, beginning with the latest full-length album from Master Boot Record titled "Floppy Disk Overdrive." The music on this new twelve-track release feels like the perfect soundtrack to a heavy metal video game for Atari 2600 or the Commodore 64. The album begins with the high-energy attack of "Ansi.sys" which has a chugging guitar riff, fueled by an eighties, electronic rhythm section. Then things get even more weird with the hardcore metal riffs of "," which just explodes into a quieter keyboard melody, before reaching the intensity of the heavy metal attack once again. The music seems to become even more grand with the extreme metal appeal of "Display.sys" and the eight-minute build-up of "Ramdrive.sys," which ends up reaching the perfect balance of keyboard frenzy and swift, solid pounding rhythms. Master Boot Record closes out the new album with the naturally progressive sounding "" and the nearly ten minute epic sonic blast of "Himem.sys." To find out more about Master Boot Record and the latest release "Floppy Disc Overdrive," please visit

Next, is the latest release from the French heavy metal artist who goes by the name Igorrr. His new album "Spirituality and Distortion" features a sound that is unlike any else in heavy metal music right now. He kicks off his new fourteen-track release with the heavy pounding of "Downgrade Desert," which also incorporates elements of Middle Eastern flair, while "Nervous Waltz" clashes the world of thrash metal and classical music. The sonic, rhythm blast of "Very Noise" is crazy good and the death metal attack of "Parpaing" will simply blow out your eardrums. Igorrr speeds things into overdrive with "Musette Maximum," before taking a step back and slowing down for the progressive metal appeal of "Lost In Introspection." He cruises to the finish of his new album with the electronic, industrial metal collage of "Paranoid Bulldozer Italiano" and the collaboration between traditional French music and the heavy metal assault of "Kung-Fu Chevre." To find out more about Igorrr and his latest release "Spirituality and Distortion," please visit

Last, but certainly not least we get a new compilation from the American classic hard rock act, Riot. Their new Metal Blade Records release features fifteen tracks titled "Rock World (Rare & Unreleased 87-95)." Some of the gems of this new release are alternate versions of songs like "Bloodstreets" and "Buried Alive (Tell Tale Heart)." Four songs on this new compilation feature former Riot lead singer Tony Moore singing lead on tracks like "Killer," which originally featured guest vocals Joe Lynn Turner (Rainbow). The new set also includes never before released outtakes of the deep hard rock groove of "Good Lovin" and the early stages of a high-powered instrumental titled "Creep." The new Riot compilation closes with a pair of tracks ("Medicine Man" and "Magic Maker") that were recorded during the Tyrant sessions and eventual ended up on the band's 1993 "Nightbreaker" album. To find out more about "Rock World (Rare & Unreleased 87-95)" release from Riot, please visit

No comments: