Tuesday, December 1, 2020

Universal Music & Island Records Boxes Up Amy Winehouse's Albums For "The Collection"

Arriving December 4th, are a pair of new releases featuring the immortal Amy Winehouse. For fans of CDs comes the five-disc box set titled simply "The Collection." It features both of Amy's studio albums ("Frank" and "Back To Black"), along with the studio outtakes album "Lioness: Hidden Treasures." Also, included for the first time on CD is her full-length official live album "Live In London (Live From Shepherd's Bush Empire, 2007)," which was only previously released on DVD/Blu-ray, and as part of the vinyl box set of "The Collection." The fifth disc in the set, making it's official debut on any format is the fifteen-track filled "Remixes" CD. It features remixes of the singles from Amy Winehouse's "Frank" and "Back To Black" albums. Many of these songs have been featured at B-sides or on import versions and some include guests like Jay-Z on "Rehab" and Ghostface Killah on "You Know I'm No Good." This disc alone will show how great Amy's voice was and can be place with jazz music, as well as club beats to create a timeless sound.

Now, for fans of vinyl, the Amy Winehouse release "12x7" is the box set for you. It features twelve of Amy Winehouse's 7-inch singles, along with their original B-sides. The set includes each single housed in its own individual picture sleeve, as well as a 20-page lyrical booklet and a set of art cards. Many of the B-sides in this set are exclusive songs that did not appear on the original albums, like "What It Is," Amy's cover of Thelonious Monk's "Round Midnight" and her ska version of "Monkey Man." This vinyl set also has Amy Winehouse's version of "I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus," which was originally performed live for BBC Radio and released for the first time as single in this set. To find out more about these two new box sets from Amy Winehouse, please visit facebook.com/amywinehouse.

No comments: