Thursday, January 7, 2021

Matthew Sweet Will Electrify Your Musical Soul With His New Album "Catspaw"

Legendary power pop/alternative rock artist Matthew Sweet returns with the release of his 15th studio album "Catspaw" on January 15th, through Omnivore Recordings. It features a dozen direct, guitar-driven anthems that were recorded just prior to the pandemic hitting the U.S. last year, but the music carries the perfect tones for letting loose from the everyday pressures of what's happening now in the world. The album kicks off with the hard edge of "Blown Away, as Sweet's vocals are so iconic that you can't mistake them for anyone else. The simplicity and honesty of the music is what injects the energy to move and feel empowered by song's rhythm. The swaying melody of "Give A Little" has a nostalgic touch, while "Challenge The Gods" carries a southern rock swagger, highlighted by some amazing harmonies. The chugging guitar riffs of "Best Of Me" lays down the perfect alternative rock vibe, while "Hold On Tight" feels like a modern rock version of classic Beach Boys, with stellar harmonies and easy to follow lyrics that stick in your head. Matthew Sweet wraps up his new album with the powerfully energetic rocker "At A Loss" and the steady pace of "Parade Of Lights," which features streaks of guitar riffs to give a raw sound. To find out more about Matthew Sweet and his latest album "Catspaw," please visit and

No comments: