Friday, February 19, 2021

New Music From The Pretty Reckless, A Scent Like Wolves, Jarhead Fertilizer and Of Mice & Men

Hard rock band, The Pretty Reckless continue to climb in popularity with each new album they release, and their latest "Death By Rock And Roll," may be their best so far. It came out on February 12th through Fearless Records and also features a few special guests as well. The Pretty Reckless start off their new twelve song release with the hard-hitting, pounding rhythm of the title song "Death By Rock And Roll," as lead singer Taylor Momsen delivers the verses with a bluesy-style, before exploding during the chorus. The raw, grungy feel of "Only Love Can Save Me Now" is supported by one half of Soundgarden, as Kim Thayil and Matt Cameron add an extra layer of nostalgia to the song. The Pretty Reckless meets Rage Against The Machine on "And So It Went," as chants of "the world does not belong to you" and a Tom Morello guitar solo take the music up another notch with a shot of adrenaline. The music turns dark on the slow moving ballad "25," while the acoustic strumming of "Got So High" feeds the emotional side of their new album. The Pretty Reckless wrap things up with the aggressive chorus of "Turning Gold," before paying homage to the rock stars that passed away before their time in "Rock And Roll Heaven," along with a return to the blues with "Harley Darling." To find out more about The Pretty Reckless and their latest release "Death By Rock And Roll," please visit

We also have the latest release from American metalcore band, A Scent Like Wolves. Their new album titled "Mystic Auras" features ten tracks, beginning with a short instrumental which opens the flood gates to the all-out aggressive assault of "Eastern Lights." A Scent Like Wolves also invite some special guests along for the ride like JT Cavey (Erra) on the hardcore balance of "Bloom" and Brian Wille (Currents) on the intense, growling/screaming vocals of "Death Effect." A Scent Like Wolves finish up their new album with the clean melody of "Dissolve," featuring Booka Nile (Make Them Suffer), along with the final sonic metalcore blast of "Aquamarine," which continues to keep this band in the conversation as one of the best American heavy metal band around. To find out more about A Scent Like Wolves and their latest release "Mystic Auras," please visit

As we move closer and closer to the end of the month, we also move closer to the debut release from deathmetal newcomers Jarhead Fertilizer. The album it titled "Product Of My Environment" and features eleven grinding heavy metal tracks that are not for the faint of heart. The opening growls of the title song "Product Of My Environment" strap you in and introduces you to the hardcore bashing, chugging guitar riffs and deep howling vocals that you will experience for the next 30 minutes. The 66-seconds of chaos that surround "Silence The Narc" is hard to grasp after one listen, while "An End To Your Sacred World" is an adrenaline punch right to the gut. Jarhead Fertilizer wraps up their new album with the experimental soundscape of "Agony Churning" and the final sonic blast of "Life Is Prison." To find out more about Jarhead Fertilizer and their latest release "Product Of My Environment," please visit

On February 26th we also get a new three-song EP from American metalcore band Of Mice & Men titled "Timeless." At just twelve-minutes long, the band wastes no time diving right in to the intense delivery of the hard-hitting title-track "Timeless." They follow that up with the thunderous heavy metal attack of "Obsolete" and then close out their new short release with the more mainstream, melodic touch of "Anchor." To find out more about Of Mice & Men and their latest release "Timeless," please visit

No comments: