Sunday, February 21, 2021

New Music From Metal Blade Records Artists Trial, Cult Of Luna and IOTUNN

During these cold winter months, Metal Blade Records rolled out a few hot new releases from Trial (swe), Cult Of Luna and IOTUNN. Following their 2018 tour with fellow label mates RAM and Portrait, Trial (swe) parted ways with longtime lead singer Linus Johansson and brought in former Air Raid lead singer Arthur Andersson to take his place. To introduce the new singer to the heavy metal world during this tough time, Trial (swe) decided to release a new, short two-song EP titled "Sisters Of The Moon." The title and lead song are a cover of the Fleetwood Mac single of the same name, with Trial (swe) adding an extra joint of adrenaline with their duel guitar line-up. Andersson fits in perfectly to this line-up, adding a fresh new life to their music. The other song on this release is a cover of Black Sabbath's "Die Young" (originally sung by Ronnie James Dio), as Tiral (swe) do their best to give the song it's proper heavy metal respect. To find out more about this latest release from Trial (swe), please visit

Another new introduction comes from the Swedish metal band, Cult Of Luna. They have a new sub-label titled, Red Creek Recordings and the debut release from the label is a new five-song EP from the band titled "The Raging River." It begins with the eight-minute epic metal number "Three Bridges," hits hard with pounding drums, growling vocals and adrenaline-fueled guitar riffs. Cult Of Luna keep the attack growling with the doom metal appeal of "What I Leave Behind," while "I Remember" showcases more of the band's musical technical side. The album closes with twelve-minute journey to the band's progressive metal side with the more melodic metal appeal of "Wave After Wave." To find out more about Cult Of Luna and their latest release "The Raging River," please visit

Arriving February 26th is the latest album from the Danish metal act IOTUNN titled "Access All Worlds." The band states that they finally feel complete on this new seven-song release, as they showcase every side to their hardcore metal sound. The chugging guitars of "Voyage Of The Garganey I" motors the songs' intense sound with Jon Aldara' vocals rising above the attack. IOTUNN display a more progressive sound with the nearly twelve-minute epic "Access All Worlds," while "Waves Below" has a more mainstream metal sound that will turn you into an instant fan of the band. The band speeds the tempo up even more during sections of "The Tower Of Cosmic Nihility," before finishing with the melodic undertone of "Safe Across The Endless Night," which only adds to the band's already high level of musicianship. To find out more about IOTUNN and their latest release "Access All Worlds," please visit

No comments: