Thursday, July 1, 2021

New Blues From Steve Marriner and Mike Zito, Along With Country Pioneer Murray McLauchlan

Arriving July 2nd through Stony Plain Records is the sophomore effort from singer, multi-instrumentalist, songwriter Steve Marriner titled "Hope Dies Last." This is Marriner's first release of solo music in over a decade, which was written during his years on the road and recorded during the 2020 shutdown. The new ten-track release begins with the soulful, high-energy rocker "Take Me To The City" and the country blues swagger of Tom Petty's "Honey Bee." Next, the guitars come out blazing during the loud, raw blast of "How High," before taking a step back for the steady, storied blues of "Coal Mine." Steve Marriner's emotions come flowing through the bluesy ballad "Enough," while "Uptown Lockdown" carries a funky rhythm, as Steve showcases his smooth guitar skills on this instrumental track. He wraps up his new album with the southern rock vibe of "Petite Dense" and the soft, gentle touch of "Long Way Down." To find out more about Steve Marriner and his latest release "Hope Dies Last," please visit

Then next week, we have the arrival of the latest album from Canadian Country Hall of Famer Murray McLauchlan. His new album "Hourglass" arrives July 9th through True North Records and features ten tracks, beginning with the mellow, acoustic strumming of "The One Percent" and the quiet, gentle touch of "Pandemic Blues." Many of the songs on this new album were inspired by the events of the last year, including the pandemic shutdown ("America") and the killing of George Floyd ("I Live On A White Cloud"). Murray also sings about how fast time goes by in fragile telling of "Hourglass," while his poetic lyrics shine bright on country ballad "Lying By The Sea." He finishes off his new album with the nostalgic folk-style of "Shining City On A Hill" and "Wishes," which is the album's most up-tempo track. To find out more about Murray McLauchlan and his latest release "Hourglass," please visit

On July 16th, through Gulf Coast Records, is the new album titled "Resurrection" from Blues Music Award-winner Mike Zito. The album was produced by Grammy Award-winner David Z and features a mix of originals and covers to represent the latest that Mike Zito has to offer. The album kicks off with a burning cover of J.J. Cale's "I'll Make Love To You," which combines the stellar guitar work from Zito with a blazing sax solo from Eric Demmer. The band lock into the sweet blues groove of "Don't Bring Me Down," while "Dreaming Of You" carries that special southern touch of the blues. Zito pays homage to one of the greats with his amazing rendition of Blind Faith's "Presence Of The Lord," before jamming on the slow blues ballad "When It Rains." His passion comes pouring out on the emotional touch of "Damned If I Do," before finishing with a raw cover of Willie Dixon's "Evil" and the seven-minute slow blues of the album closer "Resurrection." To find out more about Mike Zito and his latest release "Resurrection," please visit

No comments: